Read My Mind

I saw a survey that asked “if you had a superpower, what would it be?”

Other than the obvious altruistic powers like eradicating diseases or orchestrating world peace, I’d wish for the power to manipulate time – at least that’s always been my quick default response.

I may have to rethink that answer.

“The path Fredric took through the tents brought Eragon into close contact with more minds than he had ever touched before. Hundreds of thoughts, images, and sensations pressed against his consciousness. Despite his effort to keep them at a distance, he could not help absorbing random details of people’s lives. Some revelations he found shocking, some meaningless, others touching or, conversely, disgusting, and many embarrassing. A few people perceived the world so differently, their minds leaped out at him on account of that very difference. How easy it is to view these men as nothing more than objects that I and and a few others can manipulate at will. Yet they each possess hopes and dreams, potential for what they might achieve and memories of what they have already accomplished. And they all feel pain.” – Christopher Paolini

To read minds….maybe if everyone possesed such a superpower we’d already live in a world free of war and needless suffering. Imagine what the world would be like if we could all see through each other’s eyes, hearts and scars. If we could look at a person and feel their insecurities and fears… and if they looked at us and felt ours… just imagine.

16 thoughts on “Read My Mind

  1. I think that having those kind of superpowers would make a huge difference. It’s right that it’s better to change the minds of people, or they would use such wonderful powers to hit you instead of feeling you.. ^^
    I wish one day the world could become better, cause I think that ONLY a brave man with love and forgiveness in his heart, could make the difference! 🙂

    Anto

  2. This is a great power. But I dunno if this would make the world a better place. Sure some people would use this power to do bad things. Maybe not. It’s hard to say^^ I like to imagine I could read the minds of my friends, so I could help them way faster when they have a problem they can’t solve on their own. I got friends who never ask for help untill it’s a little too late -.- Ooh this is a long comment. Actually I just wanted to say I like this post ;D

    • It’s a great comment! 🙂 I’ve been thinking about what you said and you’re right that some people would use that kind of power in the wrong way. In a twisted way it might be good though because there are so many sociopaths and psychopaths walking among us who are given passes – we want to believe that people are fundamentally good. If we could see the true intentions of evil people, they wouldn’t have power anymore.

      As for helping friends, it would be wonderful to know exactly how to help them. We could see what their deepest fears were and help them figure out real solutions. Maybe we could just help them see themselves better because sometimes understanding ourselves is harder than understanding others.

  3. Great question! The ability to project wisdom, serenity and compassion would be my answer. And if it’s not too much trouble for those who could grant me this superpower, I’d like a really great costume (cape, boots and funky jewelry) to wear while I’m doing it! I’m actually joking about the costume, though I wouldn’t turn it down, but not the superpower.

  4. hiro nakamura came to my mind…but maybe lydia from carnival..read thoughts..
    if the thought is good, than i’m happy to read..bad, no thank you

  5. Sounds scary, doesn’t it, Christine? You know that comment “Did I say that out loud?” Some thoughts are just meant to be secret. Although we might be surprised to see how new people we meet are not what they may seem at all. I’d rather have the super power to cure everyone’s ills or solve everyone’s grave problems. Imagine being able to cure your brother of cancer or your child of autism? Pretty cool!

  6. Hmmmmm. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be truly Omniscient instead of just trying to write from that viewpoint. But then again, the more you know, the more there is to cope with in life. Perhaps less to dust is truly the better path for me, LOL

    But thank you for making me ponder something I would not otherwise have pondered.

    And now for some news, in case you are not aware: I nominated you for A Lovely Blog Award. Details are on my page. Hope you have some fun with it 🙂

    • I don’t think there would be danger in that respect. I think that seeing people’s true intentions could go on the Pro side of a checklist. It does open up a lot of questions though doesn’t it. Would evil thoughts become as punishable as actions in an effort to prevent crime?

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

  7. Yes, just imagine! I imagine that people all over the world have these same thoughts. Why, then, can we not stop this infernal fighting and live in harmony? Is it maybe that, just as we love a thriller or a movie with lots of jolts per minute, we also need excitement in our lives? That kind of excitement? Oh, I fervently hope that is not the case on this beautiful Thanksgiving morning here in Victoria. Happy Thanksgiving, Christine!

Leave a Reply

