Choices

We have so few choices in our lives. Sure, we have millions of little decisions every day, but I’m talking about the big ones. We’re brought into this world, into a country and economic bracket that wasn’t of our choosing, into a skin that we didn’t get to choose, into a complex jumble of neurotransmitters and other biological determinates that weren’t of our choosing… We cling to the notion that we are products of our own design – but we forget that the foundation on which we build ourselves, was handed to us without options.

I hate my looks, curse my weaknesses, wish I could’ve won a bit more in the DNA lottery… I am haunted by what I’ve lost and what I couldn’t reach. I get so caught up in wishing I could’ve been born with more, that I forget that I was born with so much.

I wasn’t born in a place where water is scarce, or where bullets fly over my head on a daily basis. The fact that I’m a woman doesn’t condemn me to a life without rights, where I am someone else’s property. My child has food. My child has dreams. My child is able to be a child, not a soldier.

Sometimes it’s hard to look at your own life with perspective but flip on the news and see what life could’ve been like – what it IS like for someone else – through no choices of their own. If you feel safe in this moment, if you feel loved, if you have food and a roof, then maybe you’re luckier than you think.

16 thoughts on “Choices

  1. What a powerful reminder of just how very lucky we are! We should use those reminders to make better decisions with the choices we do have! ♥x♥

  2. I love how you are able to do to reason those who read your thoughts!
    I thinks that I must be grateful to Anto because he has given to me the possibility to meet you Chris!

  3. This so strong Chris.. your words seem to burn row by row..
    Looking at what we have sometimes it’s really hard, cause we would like to be as perfect as possible in this society and the thought of a life with regrets makes us stay awake in the night.. we can’t know our future, we just have the possibility to get the info to choose the right decisions for ourseves, sometimes making mistakes and sometimes choosing good.. but I think that the truth lives exactly in the Imperfection and probably the happiness too.. and if you can recognise what count most in your life… then, I think you’re really living, and you’re living with the freedom inside your heart.

    • There are so many layers in your words… I should say something articulate but any response I can think of is too personal. You know my heart as well as your own. And you know what counts most in my life.

      “Your words seem to burn row by row.” *_________*
      Wow.

      Thank you Anto. Always.

  4. Once again you have managed to put into words what so many of us feel and would like to say, if we only knew how. Wonderful thoughts and ideas Chrissy! You are amazing!!

  5. And this is why I love your blog 😉
    I was just thinking about the same thing the other day. I was watching the movie “Sicko”, and it made me realize that there are so many other people who are struggling with something so much worse than my own problems. I’m glad to see someone else believes that as well.

    • Hey! I love hearing your opinion – especially when you’re saying you love my blog! ^.-
      Sometimes our perspectives are realigned by the most unexpected things. I haven’t seen “Sicko” (although I’ve heard Moore gives an idealized picture of our Canadian healthcare system). I imagine it holds quite a punch.

  6. Thank you. I hadn’t really thought about the choices versus decisions and I often wondered why I couldn’t have been made this way or that way. Thanks for reminding just how much I do have. ~*Jynn

Leave a Reply

