"To thine own self be true…"

Anto, the Voice of Music

Anto Thank you to Michela Zanarella, Click News  and ELFA Promotions for a great interview with Anto. Here’s an English translation, from the original Italian:

 “I think that music found me, not the other way around. What I did was just listen to her voice.” From these words we understand the high value you give to music. What does it represent to you?

I think I can associate the feeling I get from music with the feeling of falling madly and hopelessly in love. Suddenly you feel that everything you’re doing makes sense and you know how to complete a puzzle that was unfinished until that moment. You don’t know how to explain the intensity that manages to overwhelm you like a hurricane, you just know that you can’t stop loving her once her “look” has become a reflection of yourself.

 How did you become part of Summerline? Tell us about some particular episode that you experienced with the other band members.

Summerline met via our musical journies. In fact, everyone was already playing in other bands when we met. By chance or fate, I don’t know how to define it but we all knew exactly where we wanted our music to go. I think the best memory I could share was when we shot our first music video in Germany. I remember all the staff members, the way everything was perfectly organized (including the locations and how the director Robert Broellochs ran everything so smoothly, the team of people who looked after us so we always had everything we needed etc.), the bitter cold of southern Germany that cut to the bone and the small stove where at least our hands could find some comfort… I think it was one of the most challenging and intense days of my life, and definitely one of the most significant and memorable days of my life.

How did you transition to a solo career? What were the reasons that motivated you to make this choice?

After the breakup of the band due to problems with our producer and blows from the ruthless music business, it was hard for me to accept. But then I understood that music is who I am and the only way I wanted to follow, regardless of the circumstances.  I’m glad to say that the solo path is giving me the chance to know a lot of people who support me as I never could have imagined, even on the opposite side of the world, and to collaborate with the Canadian writer (and my best friend) Christine Noels, with whom I walk this path. In fact, we have many ideas in common and writing together is very easy despite the distance, and the lyrics are more personal than what I wrote with the band. All this ardor fires more and more my passion for music and gives me strength every day to believe and fight for what I love, and to not give in to “a life of quiet desperation” as Walt Whitman says.

From “Whisper My Name” to “Broken Pieces”, what connects these two recordings?

These two EPs are tied together by the desire to seek “their voices”. That is, Christine and I wanted to write about some of our experiences that hit us deeply and left their mark inside of us, mixing music and words together to create a mixture of love, passion, pain and disappointment within the framework of hope, which serves as the message that joins both EPs together. The desire to keep fighting and believing in spite of the world that we see outside our windows (which we can no longer perceive through the innocent eyes we had when we were young) allows us to believe that some magic really exists.

You’re appreciated by both fans and critics. What’s your relationship with your audience? How does the popularity affect your life?

What makes me truly happy and satisfied is the hope that I can leave an indelible mark in the hearts of my listeners. Phrases like “how is it that I can recognize myself perfectly in your songs?” or “your music touches me deeply,” contain exactly what I’m trying to transmit. Of course I also receive negative criticism but that’s okay. I’d worry if I didn’t receive some. It pushes me to dig deeper personally and achieve more artistically. I don’t think I have to worry about popularity – I worry about being sure I can reach the ears of many more people! So for now my life is pretty normal (although the word “normal” is always relative when I speak about myself!).

What “big” music artist would like to collaborate with?

I’ve always dreamed of working with Billie Joe Armstrong. Green Day is a band that has stayed with me for many years because of their music and because of him in particular. His energy and charisma has always fascinated and inspired me artistically and as a person.

Dreams, ambitions, plans for the future? 

The music industry continues to change day by day, so it’s really hard to predict what will happen in the future. Like almost all artists I have the aspiration to sign a major record deal, but as long as I have the chance to make music for the rest of my life, I know that in any case I will be satisfied.

I would like to thank Michela Zanarella for giving me this interview and for this new opportunity that I was offered to introduce me to all of you who are reading these lines. Thank you!  – Anto

3 responses

  1. Karen Lucas

    Great interview!! You two have a wonderful and very special relationship, both professionally and personally. Continue to follow your dreams!!

    June 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  2. franzihalfcolombian

    Great interview! Thank you for giving us another insight into some working processes! And as I said lots of times before I`ll always be glad to walk with you through your dreams!

    June 19, 2012 at 1:38 am

  3. Reblogged this on AURORA MOREALIST ©2011 ~ Writer.

    June 19, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers